Return of the Spanish Caravan


I know where treasure is waiting for me.
Silver and gold in the mountains of Spain
I have to see you again and again.

We’ve just wrapped up another trip to Spain.  That’s three trips for me in just a little over a year and my obsession with Iberia shows little sign of abating.  On this trip we covered about 1000 miles through Andalusia, snapped about 1300 digital pics, consumed countless cañas, tintos de verano, finos, manzanillas, tapas of all stripes and saw some stunningly beautiful countryside.  I probably have enough material for 15 posts over the next few weeks so prepare for NotHemingway.com to shift into serious Iberiophile mode.

The road outside Grazalema, Spain
The road outside Grazalema, Spain

 

4 thoughts on “Return of the Spanish Caravan

  1. Wow, what towns did you visit? We’ve lived here for just over a year now. I mostly love it, there are just a few obvious drawbacks. We live in Cadiar, a small village straight up the Sierra Nevada’s from Adra and La Rabita. Everywhere along the coastline from Gib. to Almeria is easily assessable to us so let me know when you are coming back! We’ll have to have a fiesta! BTW, I also wrote a blog dealing with your namesake if you’re interested!
    http://zodiblog.wordpress.com/2009/05/13/the-secret-tim-dorsey-and-the-drunken-hemingways/

    1. It was a heckuva trip. We hit Madrid, Sevilla, Grazalema, Jerez, Ronda, Arcos de la Frontera, Sanlúcar, Zahara de la Sierra, Córdoba, La Barrosa and Chiclana de la Frontera. Not in that order, obviously. Your area looks really cool, too – as does your blog. There’s just not enough time to spend in Spain. I’ll keep an eye on your adventures there and drop you a line the next time I’m going to be in the neighborhood.

  2. Saw you’d visited my blog and so am checking out yours. Great…I look forward to your posts on the recent travels around Spain – particulary the food, wine, cheese. We like to sit on balconies in the afternoons, sampling local wines and produce. I can see you find this a pleasant pastime yourself.

    Brenda Cheers
    http://www.brendacheers.com

Leave a Reply

