Rhubarb Sauce (and Cocktail)


Rhubarb
Rhubarb

I haven’t had rhubarb sauce for probably 15 years.  That all changed on Friday night after a trip to the grocery store produce section led me to snag a few nice stalks of rhubarb.  I had no idea how to cook it but I drove home with memories of rhubarb in “Gramps’” garden and the unmistakable smell of rhubarb sauce on the stove top.  I quickly found a recipe online and banged out a batch in minutes flat.

Cooking Rhubarb
Cooking Rhubarb

It was really tasty.  Just the perfect balance of tart and sweet.  I’m thinking that I might spike my next batch with a good dose of vanilla.  I’m not sure why, I just think it might add some depth to the flavor.  I’d also like to see what else I could do with it.  Might make a great sauce in its unsweetened state.  Something like a rhubarb balsamic reduction, maybe?

Stay tuned.

UPDATE: Turns out Mark Bittman’s “Bitten” blog has a regular series of updates on rhubarb uses and there are actual festivals dedicated to the sweet, tangy stalk.  Go figure.  Gramps would be pleased.

UPDATE TWO: I found a recipe for rhubarb soda online and decided to make it intersting and throw in a shot of vodka.  Long story short, the Mrs. requested one as she was cooking dinner and we both enjoyed it.  I strained the sauce, added club soda, ice and a shot of vodka.  Would look nice with a sugared rim and a chunk of raw ‘barb as a garnish next time.  Here’s how it the first one photographed.  Pink ‘n purty.

Rhubarb Cocktail
Rhubarb Cocktail
One Comment Add yours

  1. Scampwalker says:

    I kick myself for not buying some rhubarb earlier this spring, to honor Gramps if nothing else. I’m also thinking that in its unsweetened state, it might make a helluva marinade.

Leave a Reply

