Patatas Arrugadas


Patatas Arrugadas

I’m on the road now but before shoving off from Prague, I got one last culinary experiment in.  It was a dish that I had been dying to try to make ever since the first time I popped one in my mouth – Patatas Arrugadas.  The first time I ate them, as I recall, it was at Café Delic in Madrid over a decade ago.  I’ve been smitten ever since.

For such a flavorful dish, Patatas Arrugadas are deceptively simple to make.  (I used the recipe from José Andrés’ “Made in Spain.”)  They’re simply new potatoes boiled in salt water for about 1/2 hour.  Now, when I say salt water, I mean SALT water.  You need to salt your water until the potatoes float.  All of this salt imparts its flavor in the spud and gives them the characteristic “wrinkle.”

Now, they wouldn’t be the same dish without a little bit of mojo.  Since I was dining alone on this occasion and didn’t have some of the necessary ingredients for the red mojo, I just made the green.  Recipes I’ve found differ but it’s essentially a mix of fresh cilantro, cumin, salt, vinegar, olive oil and garlic.  It’s highly aromatic and the bright green color really looks gorgeous next to the wrinkled, salted spuds.

Sometimes it takes a while to nail a recipe – but not with these babies.  The flavor was perfect the first time I made them and now that I realize how easy they are to make, it won’t be the last.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Elen says:

    I can’t believe I just stumbled across this post (was googling for a picture of Elbow). I ate this dish in Gran Canaria when I was about 5 years old, the taste is something I remember so clearly but I’ve never had it since! Now I finally know what its called and how to make it 🙂

    1. NotHemingway says:

      Elbow and patatas arrugadas. Imagine that. One stop shopping, I guess. Thanks for taking a look and I hope the potatoes turn out well! I’ve got an itching to make them tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

