Baked Panko Onion Rings


Last night I tried a recipe that I had been wanting to try for quite a while.  I first read about Panko Onion Rings on the “Crepes of Wrath” site. As it turns out, the author of that site was inspired by a recipe on this site.  Well, after seeing the pictures on both pages, I got hungry enough to try them myself!

One thing to keep in mind with this recipe.   Czech onions are infamously stinky.   There are no “sweet” onions that I have ever come across in this country and the thought of finding a “Vidalia” is delusional.  Still, something about baking the onions in this recipe brings out the sweetness of the onion – even a Czech onion.

After trying this recipe, I’ve decided that panko is one of the best ingredients out there.   It puts the crunch into any item you like.  Plus, I never would have thought of frying onion rings at home before.  Too much mess. But baking these dudes is healthier and much easier to clean up.

Here’s the recipe.  I modified it slightly from both sites.

2 medium onions sliced into 1/2 inch rings

1 1/2 cup flour
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1 1/2 cup panko
Salt and pepper

Mix egg and milk in a bowl. On one plate, put flour. On another plate mix panko and S&P. Dredge onion rings in flour, then egg/milk, then panko/S&P.  Place on a greased cookie sheet and into a 450 degree F oven for 10-12 minutes.

Serves 2 reasonable adults or 1 hungry bachelor.  Oh, and there are no pictures because the NH girls left and took the cameras with them.  Somehow, though,  I think I might be making these for them when we meet up soon in Texas.

Leave a Reply

