Fuel City Tacos – Dallas, TX


Texas always holds its fair share of surprises and this trip was no different.   When a post-concert request for tacos turned into a detour to the “other side of town,” the surprise was well worth the trip.  When I requested tacos in the first place, I was expecting something like Taco Cabana.  What I got, thanks to a good friend, were Fuel City Tacos.

Yeah, the name confused me as well.  I mean, it sounds like a gas station.  That’s because it is.  It’s literally a hole in the wall of a gas station (complete with bars on late-night visits).  They serve Beef Fajita, Chicken Fajita, Pastor, Picadillo and Barbacoa tacos with plenty of options including corn or flour tortillas.  The Barbacoa came highly recommended so I got three.  Words cannot do these Mexican vessels of delight justice.  Fluffy soft, double-wrapped in corn tortilla, the barbacoa sits nestled under a blanket of onions, lime and cilantro.  On the side you get a red and a green sauce and I ended up using both liberally.  As the juice ran down my arm (and I fought to keep it off my buddy’s car interior), I was transported to a place one rarely gets to visit.   The place in your head where you know you are having some of the best food you will ever eat.  Fuel City Tacos are the best tacos I have ever had.  Ever.

Buoyed by this late night visit, I took the family on a “fuel stop” to Fuel City Tacos on our way out of Big D.  This time, our friends had recommended we looked for the “Corn Lady” in front, under an umbrella-topped cart.  She was described as serving some of the best corn you’ve ever had.  I took the bait and got the corn.  It was big kernel corn with a super-concentrated hot sauce, what looked like Chihuahua cheese and maybe mayo.  The picture makes it look like kind of a mess but the dish that she served up in the styrofoam cup was excellent.  The corn was just the right tenderness and the mix of other ingredients (I ordered mine “gringo” mild and am glad I did) served as the perfect foil to the sweetness of the corn.  That followed up by another five barbacoa tacos and we were ready to hit the road down to Austin.

Interestingly, on that drive south, I was overcome by an incredible sense of well-being.  Part of it was the fact that I had just spent several days with my bro, his family, and some of the best friends anyone could ever hope for.  The other part was the fact that Texas, in general, felt like pulling on a worn pair of jeans and Mr. Rogers sweater after a long day in a suit and shiny leather shoes.  Everything makes sense in Texas.  Even the fact that the best tacos in the state can be found at a gas station.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Scampwalker says:

    Nice writeup, bro. And not visiting Fuel City is the one regret I have about our trip to Texas.

Leave a Reply

