Caramelized Brussels Sprouts with Garlic


We’re working hard this week to sit down to dinners together as a family with Little NH and get her introduced to some new foods. Our time in Texas yielded no progress on this front save for a new love for anything chocolate and Blue Bell ice cream. We thought that by doing more meals around the table with her, we could introduce some new items. For the most part, it has been a success. She’s added a handful of new dishes.

That being said, Brussels sprouts were not one of them. Heck, we do know the limits of some things and didn’t even seriously try. We offered but didn’t push it.  As a matter of fact, I had to convince my wife to clean her plate and not try to pawn her last few sprouts off on me. “Set a good example for your daughter,” I said. I’m sure she wanted to kick me under the table – hard.

At any rate, I loved the darn things. They were really easy to make, full of flavor and a great “winter green” compliment to an Emmanthaler-stuffed pork chop and mashed potatoes. I just washed and halved them, sautéed them on the flat side in olive oil and a couple cloves of garlic until they had caramelized and then threw in a few drops of water to steam as the pork chops finished up.

Mrs. NH had actually requested to try them so I was probably way off base to give her a hard time. Little NH helped me make them so maybe there’s even hope for her the next time, too. I just hope no one kicks me under the table.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Fredericksburg Flash says:

    Sounds wonderful. Will your deck grill work in this PRG weather, or did you do the pork inside? QWe love BS!!!

    1. NotHemingway says:

      Unfortunately my grill and deck are completely covered in snow and I don’t own a big shovel. But I think I might just go outside and see if I can get it cleaned off a bit! For the record, the pork chops were done in a skillet with olive oil on medium heat for about 12 minutes. It’s the second time we’ve done them and they’re pretty darn tasty.

    2. NotHemingway says:

      Just went out and used a plastic dust pan to clear enough snow away in front of the grill to fire it up. I ignited with the 2nd click! Burgers on the grill are on the menu for this week. Thanks for the inspiration, flash!

  2. kasperville says:

    Dear Ngai, I need some Blue Bell.

    1. NotHemingway says:

      And, for those of you, like me, who thought Ngai was a typo – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ngai

      1. kasperville says:

        That’s all I hear every run with these Kenyan kids. Ngai, Krees, Ah’m so tyahed.

Leave a Reply

