Happy 4th of July!


I equate a few things with the 4th of July.  Fireworks, pride in my country and homemade vanilla ice cream.

I’m in Rovinj, Croatia right now so there will be no fireworks to speak of tonight.  But I do have a huge bunch of pride for the US of A right now and there is a good ice cream shop with tasty vanilla right across the street.  (Two outa three ain’t bad.)

I spend a fair amount of time thinking about what my Great Grandpa must be thinking of me.  He beat feet off this continent and I’ve got my heels dug in.  Man, life can be ironic.

That said, I hoist a tall glass of the best Croatian brew to my homeland.  It is a country that has given me so much and I work to do my best to repay.  The debt will never be settled.

To those Americans out there doing the really hard work, thank you.  To the rest of us who are just lucky enough to live in a country that they keep free, Happy Independence Day.

Light some fuses for me.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. tokyo5 says:

    I’m also an American who lives outside the U.S.

    How long have you been living in Europe?

    My “4th of July” post:
    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2010/07/04/dokuritsu-kinenbi/

    1. NotHemingway says:

      I’ve been here almost 6 years. Enjoy the holiday. For you, I’d bet on a Sapporo or 2, some BBQ of the local type and KISS cranked up to 11?

      Whatever it is, enjoy!

  2. Scampwalker says:

    We’ll light $120 worth of fuses for you.

    1. NotHemingway says:

      Sweeeeeeeet. I can almost smell the punks. Have a great time and get rid of it!

Leave a Reply

