Girls, Girls, Girls


It’s official.  I finally wore Mrs. NH down and got her to agree to find out the sex of the Baby NH on the way.  Little NH helped wear her down, too.  As a matter of fact, it was little NH that got the news from the Dr. here in Prague.  She got exactly what she wanted, too.  A little sister.

I’d be lying if I said I’m not a little nervous about becoming a dad of girls.  I don’t understand them one bit.  I don’t know what goes through their minds and I’m aware of the fact that it’s probably going to get more difficult to understand as they age.

But for every part of me that is scared stiff, another part is really looking forward to being “Dad” to two girls and watching them grow into women.  In the 3 and 1/2 years I have had the pleasure of knowing Little NH, I’m always amazed at how fun it is to be a dad.  She’s full of wisdom that I certainly never had at that age and it’s hard not to be a little giddy when I realize that kid number two will bring a whole new set of quips to make me smile.

I’ve also concluded that I’m going to have some good weekends in the field in the future while the girls are out doing girl things.  I’m also glad I have a nephew who seems more than ready and willing to carry on the family name and the tradition of hunting.  I just hope he doesn’t mind that there are a couple of girls carrying guns beside him, you know, when the shopping’s done.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Fredericksburg Flash says:

    Maybe someday Gramps can tramp a field with Little NH 1, and Little NH 2.
    Hmmm, 80!

    1. NotHemingway says:

      That’s the plan! Stick around, eh?

  2. LT says:

    So excited for you guys!!

    1. NotHemingway says:

      Thanks, LT. We’re awfully excited, too.

  3. Scampwalker says:

    Yes, if there were ever any question, you are now very much in the minority at the NH household. Nothing wrong with that though — daughters are a ton of fun — and you’ll never have to fight over the Cabela’s catalog.

    1. NotHemingway says:

      Good news is, Little NH already likes NU football so I must be doing something right. As for the Cabela’s catalog, I’m not so sure. She’s a clothes horse and I don’t expect #2 to be different.

Leave a Reply

