A “Hacked” Ikea Hol and Stanton T-62 Turntable


Now how’s that for a cryptic post title?

Those of you that have spent any time on my blog know that I am smitten with vinyl records.  I finally got my Stanton T62 turntable after my birthday a few days back and needed a place to put it in our 2 bedroom apartment occupied by four.  I found it in the Ikea Hol – about a $50 purchase at an Ikea in Prague.  After about 5 minutes of initial assembly and 1 hour of modifying it according to the Instructables.com tutorial, I’ve got a handsome, functional turntable stand.  The bottom portion houses my modest collection of vinyl and allows me to tuck it away (hopefully) out of the reach of a soon-to-be-crawling Little NH2.  Now, as soon as the pre-amp shows up in the mail, I’ll be all ready to use it.  Stay tuned.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. LT says:

    Oh, I like that little machine of yours. It’s cool looking.

    1. NotHemingway says:

      Yeah, I think Mrs. NH is getting tired if hearing, “Isn’t it cool looking?” every time I take off the cover. As cool as it looks, it sounds even better.

  2. Fariz says:

    Hi, I’m looking to buy the same turntable but don’t know much about pre-amps, may I ask which one you went for? any advice?

    1. NotHemingway says:

      I went with a behringer pp400. It does the trick for me. There is a very faint buzz somewhere in my system but I’m using a US receiver on European current so it could be anywhere. The Turntable is also on a converter. I have no reason to believe the buzz is in the preamp. Good luck. You’ll love the turntable. It sounds great to these ears.

Leave a Reply

