Albums of My Year – 2011


 

These are the albums of my year.  If they interest you, check them out.  They’re not the be all and end all of music.  However, this has been the soundtrack of 2011 for me.  I’m happy to say that many of them have been appreciated on vinyl.  That medium, more than anything else, has gotten me back to enjoying music and not just listening to it.  I had forgotten about the difference there for a while.

Anyway, here’s my 2011 in no particular order:

  • Alberta Cross – Rolling Thunder EP
    Hope this is a preview of the new album.  Driving rock that could derail into Kings of Leon in 2012.  Let’s hope not.

 

  • The Black Keys – El Camino
    Geez.  Hook mania.

 

  • Elbow – Build a Rocket Boys!
    Not their best by a mile but the 1st half is great and it picks up again at the end.

 

  • Gomez – Whatever’s on Your Mind
    An older, wiser, Gomez.  Not their best but a good dad record.  I am what I am.

 

  • Jane’s Addiction – The Great Escape Artist
    Nice effort from guys well past their prime.

 

  • John Hiatt – Dirty Jeans and Mudslides
    He’s still got it.

 

  • Kasabian – Velociraptor!
    English bloke dance-rock at its best.

 

  • Kurt Vile – Smoke Ring for My Halo
    Dinosaur Jr. mixed with Dylan.  And Beck.  Laconic and awesome.

 

  • Peter Bjorn and John – Gimme Some
    The new Apples in Stereo for me.  Sweet power pop.  Hooks galore.

 

  • Portugal. The Man – In the Mountain In the Cloud
    Wasilla, AK.  They’ve got a period in their name.  ‘Nuff said.

 

  • Radiohead – The King of Limbs
    Weird album that rewards with repeat listens.  Rockers need not apply.

 

  • Wilco – The Whole Love
    A return to form for one of the best American bands.  Great stuff.
One Comment Add yours

  1. S Kuehn says:

    Hello, NotH….,
    Your choice of albums (if I may use the emotive term “album”….) is lovely. With such taste, I suspect you’ve already immersed yourself in a little Arcade Fire, Band of Horses, and of course My Morning Jacket? I’m throwing these in as my fav’s (of 2012), seeing as that your fav list of 2011 includes many of mine as well. Just a thought, my not-so-flavorfully distant friend from miles away…

Leave a Reply

