Thoughts from the Road


It is the end of another work day here in the Caucasus.  This time night is falling on the town of Yerevan, Armenia.  My ten night trip is drawing to an end and I have a few observations as the most alien of aliens in this far away land.

I hope foreign travel will always be a part of my life.  There’s no substitute for the way it invigorates one’s mind.  With the time spent in each town and the travel between, you really start to notice life as it goes on in front of your eyes.  As a traveler for business, I react to a coming trip much differently than I do when traveling with my family.

As I begin the first day of far-flung trips like this one, I always start with trepidation.  As someone who is responsible for a family and a livelihood, I always dwell a bit on the “what could go wrong” scenarios.  Before a trip I obsess over visas, daily itineraries and meeting times.  However, as soon as the wheels of the plane leave the ground, I surrender to the unknown that lies before me.  I guess it’s a coping mechanism.  I do my best to plan in advance and then when I finally get off the ground, I let the chips fall as they may.  Heck, there’s nothing much you can do about it when you’re thousands of miles away from your comfort zone.  Why bother worrying?

After everything falls into place and the meetings are done I’m always glad to return home.  The wanderlust of my youth is replaced with a deep desire to spend as much time as possible with my wife and kids.  I’m not conflicted about it.  Rather, the time away makes me appreciate what I know I’m thankful for every day.  Travel puts it all into perspective.  It’s quite a gift.

One Comment Add yours

  1. POP says:

    It all started when you didn’t want to take the trip to Russia and Mom, Dad and Ted pushed you into going. You were hooked after that!

Leave a Reply

