I Worked Today


Believe it or not, I worked today.  As a matter of fact, I’ve worked just about every day on this trip.  Usually, it is from a mobile phone in my hand or a computer on my lap.  Never a full day, but enough.

It is a crazy, connected world.  Which leads me to the point of this post.  It is nice to unplug, but also, if you take as much leave as I have in the last couple months, it is nice to be in touch.  It’s like you’re away, but not completely in another universe.

That way, when I do get back to the office, I should only be pummeled by a brick or two instead of an entire load, all at once.  That’s the plan, at least.

But it was strange.  I was working out a management problem with a runaway co-worker in the States as I stood on a pier, overlooking the Rovinj, Croatia harbor.  Would the old, unconnected way be better?  In some cases, most definitely.  But this way also helps ward off the boogeyman of “What is waiting for me in the office?”  Not to mention, the view from here is eminently better than the one from my office window.

There’s one other thing to consider.  I’ve had more time to think on this trip than I’ve had in years.  Idle time gives your noodle a good way to work on those problems in the background that would otherwise go completely unacknowledged.  You can think about things like, “Why is the guy in Stinkadonia so difficult to work with,” as you’re focusing on the important stuff like, “what am I going to order after this beer,” and “Is Croatia really better than Italy?”

Well, I’ve figured the last question.  Connected or not, it’s a resounding “Yes.”

One Comment Add yours

  1. Fredericksburg Flash says:

    Nice office.

Leave a Reply

